restoring a save

restoring a save

Postby Lasidora » Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:55 pm

I dont get it. I copy paste the save word. loads up. but im missing almost everything. most of my followers and locations. Everytime i re download for the new updates. i have to start all over again. for example. i copy pasted exactly this
20}20}14}13}20}16}23}113}71}2915}0}sewer gator}Mental Mouse}sewer gator}Mental
Mouse}sewer gator}5}0}3}2}3}9}12}10}14}9}claw
hammer}0}0}1}0}nothing}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}000100B}0}0}0}0}0}0}2}1}1}0}0}0}0}0}0}0
0
chantpartA}0}0}54}3}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}1}2}1}4}3}2}1}0}0}1}0}0}0}0}1}0}0000000000000N}
}0}0}0}0}11}0}0}57}0}0}0}0}0}3}0}2}0}8}0}0}0}0}0}58}4}0}1}0}0}6}0}10}2}0}0}0}0}0}
}0}0}0}0}1}0}6}2}0}5}0}0}2}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}4}0}12}6}6}2}0}0}4}0}2}0}0
chantpartB}1}0}0}0000000000000B}0}1}0}0}0}0}5}16}0}10}0}15}3}3}0}4}0}3}0}4}AAAAA
AAAAAA}0}0}0

Start up. makes me pick some perks. for some reason fang is the alpha which wasnt the way he was previously. and like i said, my locations and other followers are gone
Lasidora
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:35 pm

Re: restoring a save

Postby Wahn » Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:12 am

That saveword is damaged:

20}20}14}13}20}16}23}113}71}2915}0}sewer gator}Mental Mouse}sewer gator}Mental Mouse}sewer gator}5}0}3}2}3}9}12}10}14}9}claw hammer}0}0}1}0}nothing}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}000100B}0}0}0}0}0}0}2}1}1}0}0}0}0}0}0}00
chantpartA}0}0}54}3}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}1}2}1}4}3}2}1}0}0}1}0}0}0}0}1}0}0000000000000N}}0}0}0}0}11}0}0}57}0}0}0}0}0}3}0}2}0}8}0}0}0}0}0}58}4}0}1}0}0}6}0}10}2}0}0}0}0}0}}0}0}0}0}1}0}6}2}0}5}0}0}2}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}4}0}12}6}6}2}0}0}4}0}2}0}0
chantpartB}1}0}0}0000000000000B}0}1}0}0}0}0}5}16}0}10}0}15}3}3}0}4}0}3}0}4}AAAAAAAAAAA}0}0}0


In every spot showing a line break of what you posted, there is at least one symbol missing - there _never_ should be a 00 or }} in a saveword (well, except he lone blocks ending with N and B for the 0). And with even one symbol missing, all kinds of values are assigned to the wrong npcs in a big catastrophic domino effect...

I've patched in } and 0 in the clearly faulty sections, resulting in a saveword with Beta Fang, Amy, Helen, Snow, Stelle, Philip, Sandra, Carl, Hayato and Nadia in the bunker:
Code: Select all
20}20}14}13}20}16}23}113}71}2915}0}sewer gator}Mental Mouse}sewer gator}Mental Mouse}sewer gator}5}0}3}2}3}9}12}10}14}9}claw hammer}0}0}1}0}nothing}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}000100B}0}0}0}0}0}0}2}1}1}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}0
chantpartA}0}0}54}3}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}1}2}1}4}3}2}1}0}0}1}0}0}0}0}1}0}0000000000000N}0}0}0}0}0}11}0}0}57}0}0}0}0}0}3}0}2}0}8}0}0}0}0}0}58}4}0}1}0}0}6}0}10}2}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}1}0}6}2}0}5}0}0}2}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}0}4}0}12}6}6}2}0}0}4}0}2}0}0
chantpartB}1}0}0}0000000000000B}0}1}0}0}0}0}5}16}0}10}0}15}3}3}0}4}0}3}0}4}AAAAAAAAAAA}0}0}0

Was that roughly the group of npcs you had? That's the best I can do for you, but since I I don't know exactly what parts were missing or if it was just the one symbol, I can't guarantee that everything is at it should be.

I do wonder how people keep losing critical symbols out of their savewords - there were about 3 cases in the last few months. May I ask how exactly you play FS and copy/store your saveword? To avoid any possibly copying errors, I'd recommend going with the game file + interpreter option, running that, your saveword will automatically be written into a file in the game folder and can be restored from that file...
User avatar
Wahn
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 2:57 pm

Re: restoring a save

Postby Lasidora » Mon Apr 21, 2014 8:15 am

I would download the pack with all 3 games and load up fs and play from the there and thank you
Lasidora
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:35 pm

Re: restoring a save

Postby Wahn » Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:06 pm

If you do have the offline version, type `load game` next to Trixie to restore the saveword from the file.
User avatar
Wahn
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 2:57 pm

Re: restoring a save

Postby Evilpancake » Tue May 27, 2014 2:05 am

I too am having a few save issues. When updating to a new version, the file it makes in the "my documents" folder always fails, it works during the current version ok it seems, but not when a new version is put out. So is that method of saving just invalid for keeping a save from version to version?

Now if i try to use the saveword instead, i start up a game, go to trixie, and recite the word in the 3 parts, including the chantA/chantb thing. Sometimes i try all at once to see if that helps, it doesn't. Whenever i load off a save i'm missing nearly everything, doesn't save bunker npcs, doesn't save feats, the only things it actually seems to save are my level and stats (strength, dex, and so on)

I think you guys need to do some sort of guide to getting this game to save correctly because i'll be honest i don't know how people are regularly playing this game because i have start over EVERY time a new version comes out and the save files no longer load... its very very very very annoying...
Evilpancake
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 3:27 pm

Re: restoring a save

Postby Wahn » Tue May 27, 2014 2:25 am

- While playing in the same version, you can save/restore your files. These savegames are incompatible between different versions.

- To transfer your progress to a new version, type `saveword` to get your code (and automatically generated saveword files in the offline version). Then in the new game, go to Trixie and either recite all three parts of the saveword (separately! One after the other) or simply type `load game` in the offline version (which reads the saveword files).
User avatar
Wahn
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 2:57 pm

Re: restoring a save

Postby Wahn » Tue May 27, 2014 2:30 am

The saveword system does save just about every bunker npc and many others, making me wonder what exactly you are reciting. Can you post that as you would type it in the game?
User avatar
Wahn
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 2:57 pm

Re: restoring a save

Postby Evilpancake » Tue May 27, 2014 2:58 am

Heh, i think i actually figured out the issue myself. When i was cutting/pasting to type to you what i was doing, i realized i was using just the simple notepad, and Word Wrap was fucking with it. Because when i used Microsoft Word, straight from office 2010 without any sort of word wrap nonsense, it actually loaded in all my feats and 1 bunker npc i'd gotten so far since starting again.

I'll post something again when i load up a new build see if i'm still experiencing odd transition issues, but hopefully stupid word wrap was the cause
Evilpancake
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 3:27 pm

Re: restoring a save

Postby Wahn » Tue May 27, 2014 3:36 am

Do try `load game` too. If you use that, you won`t have to handle the saveword yourself at all... it`ll be in the txsave text files.
User avatar
Wahn
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 2:57 pm


Return to General Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests